Moonloops

IMG_1637

January 2016

Remember summer?  If you live near me, on the East Coast, US, you are blanketed in two feet of snow.

Yet, spring is only a few months away.  This is the time to plan projects for warmer weather.   The long winter days are perfect to create cool lace designs for spring and summer knits.

Below is a spring project I completed last year for my garden.  I wasn’t satisfied with the look and price of commercial trellises.  Instead, I bought bulk twine at Bowen’s Farm Supply in Annapolis, MD for about twenty dollars and crocheted a trellis.  I still have plenty of yardage left for more twine projects.  I estimate this trellis cost me few dollars.

I strung the final work onto a frame of plant stakes.   The best part about the crochet trellis is that it held up under my heap of lima bean plants.  I was able to disassemble and store the trellis for my 2016 garden.

IMG_1708

Crochet Trellis: I modified the pattern below to create the trellis.

I used a 21 chain, 11 stitch combo, with a 5 loop treble instead of a double crochet stitch. Instead of the trebles on rows 2, 4, 6, 8, 10. I inverted the pattern using the SC for the even rows and the 5 treble stitch for the odd rows.

Modified Row 6: *CH 11, SC st 11, CH 11, SC in 4th st of 5TR 5X, * CH 11 repeat …

Row 7: CH 21, 5 TR 11X into the top of the SC of previous row, CH 21, repeat.

P1010522
Crochet Trellis Pattern

2 Comments

  1. Marion says:

    Hello ! Great idea ! Do you have a picture of the plants fully grown on the crochet trellis ?

    Like

  2. Hi Marion! I don’t have a picture of the plants fully grown on the trellis. I wish I did. I will take lots more pictures this summer. I glad you like the idea. I hope to crochet a garden fence this summer, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment